Blogged

The Moment When I Whispered A Short Prayer

Once again, it was another productive shift last night. Most of the time, I hate it whenever I’m scheduled for a night shift because some ugly things usually happen to me. (Like my eye circles get really dark after the shift) Not to mention the creepy moments if I would really try to focus. Good thing I always make it a point to have something or a lot of small things to do for the next hours to prevent myself from committing some kind of negligence on my part.

I was delighted to see my duty mates last night. For the first time again, I was with a complete set of co-workers for a shift: a staff, three job order nurses (for which I am included) and two RN Heals. A needed number of manpower for almost a hundred patients in a ward nowadays, since we could not have at least one is to three ratio.

It was almost 12 midnight when two patients called my attention for several simple complaints. One was experiencing from a hearing impairment after being confined and another was a chest pain. So, using prioritization, I attended the patient with the chest pain first after telling the other that I’ll be taking the first one for I think it needed an immediate intervention first. I took the patient’s blood pressure and got 190/100 mmHg. I asked the patient of the quality and location of pain. I also made sure it wasn’t something that was originating from the stomach (gastric secretions) from not eating. I asked her if she has had a family history of any heart disease and told me that there wasn’t. She then complained of slight difficulty of breathing and I noted her clenched fist on top of her chest. I checked her medicine box and found no medicine available for her elevated blood pressure. After studying the patient’s condition, I referred to our staff in order to inform her about the patient’s condition and asked her of the appropriate interventions to take. But she focused on the fact that the patient could be only experiencing from a gastric pain from not eating and would not want any further intervention to take. So I have decided to consult the resident (doctor) on duty about the patient’s condition since the patient is supposed to be discharged soon. The new resident gave a prescription for the patient’s elevated blood pressure and shortly after the patient took the medication intended for her condition, the blood pressure went down to 140/70mmHg, but the chest pain was still there. Knowing that the patient could have an undiagnosed heart condition, I told myself that it would be better to refer still for us to really know.

Referrals at this point in time are very crucial. It was always very hard to approach tired and sleeping residents, especially when they were shortly rested after a surgery. This is aside from the fact that it’s between 1:00-5:00 in the morning, when everybody is expected to be having their deep sleep. But I could not do less. I have to refer so I knocked at the doctor’s quarters to find the Chief Resident herself and entertained my concern. She was one of my favorite Ob-Gyne Residents, and I’m really glad that she was not irritated. ^^, After stating all my assessments, the patient’s chief complaint and my interventions, she decided to visit the patient, who was now situated at the corridor in front of the nurse’s station since we’ve decided to address her slight shortness of breath and her need of O2 inhalation.

I re-checked her vital signs as per doctor’s request and noted them. She then requested for a 12-Lead ECG so we borrowed an ECG machine at the CCU. I took her ECG tracing and secretly noting some abnormality on some leads.  After carrying out her orders, she went back to the doctor’s quarters. I silently looked at the ECG tracing and hoped for a miracle to happen. I don’t know… maybe I wasn’t really satisfied yet since her chest pain could not be addressed still. Minutes of waiting for a small miracle passed and suddenly, I just got an answered prayer. God is really good!! =) Dr. Yap, (from Internal Medicine-Cardio & my favorite IM doctor) visited for her usual rounds. (Since we are from the Ob-Gyne Department, certain conditions aside from their gynecologic problems are being referred also to Internal Medicine Department for co-management.) My heart skipped a beat and was overfilled with joy. After assisting her as she made new orders for her patients in our ward, I took the opportunity to let her read the ECG tracing and explained what happened prior to that. ^^, She’ve decided to note the case. It was Ischemia. Antero-Septal in particular. Just like what I have suspected.  She made new orders and a few more requests to validate her impression. Finally, one patient got the intervention she really needed. I’m very thankful that I was able to help at least one suffering patient and was able to prevent an impending condition related to it. After giving the prescription, I went back at my spot on the nurses station and whispered a short prayer. “Lord, thank you po kasi tinulungan mo ako dun sa patient.” I thanked for His Divine Providence, and that He helped me with this sincere and simple task of helping this patient I’m responsible for.

Then everything followed, I informed the staff of what happened during that time that she was sleeping (about the referral) and I was able to inform also the ROD (resident on duty) that the IM have seen the patient and made an impression.

Action > Referred to the Resident on Duty and IM on Duty with new orders made and carried out. 🙂

It was a fulfilling shift, and before I went home, I visited the patient and was glad to note no more chest pain. A smile full of gratitude from this patient is well enough to fulfill my sleepless shift last night. And to know that the patient  was no longer experiencing from that chest pain inspired me more to do well to other patients.

I love my profession and my patients.

And as usual, I was again given an answered prayer. God bless you guys!! ^___^

16 thoughts on “The Moment When I Whispered A Short Prayer”

  1. Oh my goodness! an amazing article dude. Thank you Nonetheless I’m experiencing difficulty with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting equivalent rss drawback? Anybody who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

    1. Thank you so much. I think my previous theme does not have any RSS link for the site, so I have decided to change the theme instead. I have chosen this theme with an rss link on the upper right corner of the site. 🙂 I hope this will help you subscribe. Good day! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Cheap SEO Packages
  3. Pingback: SEO Services
  4. Pingback: Fish Oil
  5. Pingback: Vintage
  6. we prefer to honor quite a few other world-wide-web web-sites around the internet, even though they arent linked to us, by linking to them. Underneath are some webpages really worth checking out

  7. although internet websites we backlink to beneath are considerably not associated to ours, we feel they are essentially worth a go by means of, so have a look

Leave a Reply

